Since I got wind of it in the last few weeks, I have been paying attention to the up coming referendum vote that will be taking place this coming Thursday, September 18th. Those living in Scotland will be deciding whether or not Scotland will becoming it’s own country again. Something that has not been a reality in over 300 years.

I am interested and excited to see what happens, as I would jump at the chance to move to Scotland given the chance either way of this vote. I have had the desire to live in Scotland for 5 years now, but have relegated myself to the reality that the easiest and most practical way for that to happen is to marry a Scotsman, and the likelihood of that happening is looking slim.

If the vote comes back to be yes, Scotland would still not be it’s own country until March 26th 2016, which is just over 18 months away. Even if Scotland became its own country, my best legal option of moving would be through marriage.

Why would someone like me want to move to Scotland? you may ask. I will tell you. I have been fascinated with it’s culture, history, lifestyle, climate (and about the only place in my own country that rivals that is SE Alaska) and I want a change of pace. I want to learn about another country’s culture by immersion. I have been trying to learn about the culture and such through BBC documentaries and non fictitious TV Programs. I also realize that it would be a huge adjustment for me, and that challenge is part of the reason why I want to go. I want to get out of my shell and experience living abroad.

I have done a bit of research, and I know even with food intolerances I would be fine, It would just be part of the adjustment and learning how to take care of myself in a new environment with brands I am not familiar with. It can be done. Not allowing myself to give in and come back without giving it a fair chance just because it is unfamiliar and new. If I were to move I would rely on the fact that I got through College (University) without giving up in the first year (I had serious thought about it, and wanted to at one point), but I did not give up. I stuck it out, and I am glad I did.

