Watching the Process

Yesterday’s referendum in Scotland has sparking something that I have not seen in a long time, if ever. I have been watching the aftermath unfold, and looking at the results. This is only the beginning, of a long process. While the No’s took 55% of the votes, looking at how the votes were broken down by age, Yesterday was only the beginning. I would not be at all surprised to see an Independent Scotland in my lifetime. I have heard and read that the referendum was rigged and there was voter fraud that took place. I don’t know if that is true or not, but that does raise questions and cause for concern.

Yes, Scotland chose to join England in 1707, but that was 307 years ago. Nothing stays the same for 307 years. The United States became its own country, and one that is not even part of the Commonwealth, other countries have broken away, become their own countries, with their own governments, with their own currency and their own economies.

85% of those living in Scotland turned out and cast their vote. I wonder what would happen if 85% of the American population voted in each election, how much different, and better our own country could be. This is a lesson for my generation, that we do have the power to affect change. It won’t happen overnight, but if we all educated ourselves, and chose to come together to have our voices heard, how much more we could do for our own country. It is sad to see how many of my fellow countrymen (non gender specific here) don’t know what is going on within their own country, and are completely clueless to what is going on around the world. With the advent of ships, and planes, and even cars the world had gotten so much smaller. There is no excuse to not have any clue to what is going on, or limit the sources in which you get your information from.

There is something about seeing a country turning out in force, and being passionate about its future. By what I have been seeing today, this whole Scottish Independence debate is really just getting started. Seeing a country turnout in force and actually participating in their future. Seeing that much active participation astounds me, and gives hope for the future. Young people taking part in the decisions that affect them, their future and their nation is something that my generation of American’s is sorely lacking.

It also baffles me, to think that Scotland is only about 1/3 of the size of the state of Oregon (my home state) in square miles and a population that is roughly that of the state of Minnesota.

I totally believe that Scotland could succeed on its own, it would take work yes, but it can be done. Playing it safe never gets you anywhere where you want to be.

why should I trade one tyrant three thousand miles away for three thousand tyrants one mile away? – The Patriot (2000)

It’s all for nothing if you don’t have freedom. – Braveheart (1995)

I *am* William Wallace! And I see a whole army of my countrymen, here in defiance of tyranny. You’ve come to fight as free men… and free men you are. What will you do with that freedom? Will you fight? … Aye, fight and you may die. Run, and you’ll live… at least a while. And dying in your beds, many years from now, would you be willin’ to trade ALL the days, from this day to that, for one chance, just one chance, to come back here and tell our enemies that they may take our lives, but they’ll never take… OUR FREEDOM! – Braveheart (1995)

There’s a difference between us. You think the people of this country exist to provide you with position. I think your position exists to provide those people with freedom. And I go to make sure that they have it. – Braveheart (1995)

About pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.
This entry was posted in Culture, History, Scotland, UK and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

