Catch 22

To get a job you need experience, but to get experience you need a job. Having a college degree will help you get a good job, but having a college degree without experience makes you worse off in many cases than a high school graduate. That has been the story of my life for the past four years.

I went to college, graduated with my bachelor’s degree, and now four years later I am still looking for a job. I have had a few jobs here and there that didn’t last long, one of which helped me to really see that I had changed my major in college for the right reasons.

Growing up, I always heard that going to college will mean that you will find a good job, and a career, and was pushed into college. It was just what you are supposed to do. Here I am with a degree and no job, and no steady income, thinking I would have been better off not having gone to college and started working at 18, before the recession hit.

These days, you are hard pressed to find a job WITH experience, and no one is really willing to give someone with little experience a real chance and the time to learn what they need to know on the job, and those who have degrees without the experience that employers expect to go along with it, you are pretty much in the same position as a high school dropout.

In between jobs I have spending my time learning how to knit more complicated patterns, as well as spending even more time knitting hats and sweaters for kids living in poverty.

They can say that the economy is improving, but what I am really seeing, being down here on the ground in the real world is that the dropping unemployment numbers are really showing that more and more of the unemployed have stopped looking for work, because the talk and promises are just talk without actions to back them up, and millions of American’s are fed up with not being about to support their families, and pay off their college loans.

Many of us who are unemployed would totally work for $9 to $10 an hour if we could work at least 30 hours a week. I get that the global marketplace is changing and we have to change with it, but that is not a justifiable reason to keep millions of American’s unemployed, losing their homes, and dissatisfied with our leaders. I am one of the millions of American’s who just wants to make a living, and support myself. I among how many other of my fellow American’s aren’t the occupy wall street/ occupy (city name here) protesters, but are just plain fed out with being lied to, and having the only thing being done is having the economic outhouse hole being dug even deeper with every passing day.

I am frustrated because I did what I was supposed to, I went to college after high school, and I graduated, but no matter what I have tried, I am still unemployed, and I am angry and frustrated about being lied to for the past 6+ years. I have been out trying to find a decent job for 4.5 years, I started looking and applying before graduation, and the best job I had, was as a Roadshow sales representative that was a temporary job.

Let my experience of living in a catch 22 for the past 4+ years be a lesson to all of you young people out there, who are having college shoved down your throat, that unless you plan to go into health care, IT, education, engineering, or sciences, I would strongly urge you to rethink going to college, and if you do, work while you are in college. I guarntee you that the vast majority of the time college will not prepare you for the working world, and what really does help you is proper on the job training, experience. Sitting in a classroom taking notes, writing papers will not train you for the real world.

About pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.
This entry was posted in College, Life, Unemployment, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

