Hey Everyone!

Here are a few things that have happened since my last post:

  • Glee’s version of Just Give Me a Reason was trash in my opinion. Quinn and Puck’s version almost made my ears bleed. I do much prefer the original by Pink and Nate Ruess. I had fallen in love with original the first time I had heard it, and I can’t say that for a lot of songs.
  • I really enjoyed Michael Buble’s cover of To Love Somebody. The original is by the Bee Gees, which is still a really good song, but I loved the jazz version that Michael had created. I don’t think one or the other is better, but I just really enjoyed the Modern Jazz version a lot.
  • Had a good discussion with my mom about food, and while my food choices fall within the alternative category, there was still a lot of common ground. I choose to be different but it isn’t wrong.
  • I feel like my life is about to change, for the better. “Hope. It is the only thing stronger than fear” – The Hunger Games

I haven’t watched Glee for the past season and a half, and just recently watched an episode from this past season, entitled “New Directions”. I had gotten bored with where the writers were taking show, especially after the third season when most of the main cast graduated.  It appears at least from that episode that Quinn and Puck have gotten back together, and it seems like half of the original cast is all going off to New York, to live the New York dream. Mr. Schuster was no longer going to be a teacher at McKinley, and was potentially headed to Carmel, the home of the arch enemy show choir to McKinley. It just seemed so forced and like the writers were just writing the show into its oblivion. I was never a die hard fan, and kind of / sort of watched the first three and a half seasons to see what would happen as cheesy, corny, and horrible as it was, but also to hear what songs they pulled out to use. There were a few good songs, and I do mean a few. The songs in this episode were particularly bad, and their rendition of Just Give Me a Reason by Pink (Featuring Nate Ruess), done by Quinn and Puck was poor, I had always been of the mind that Dianna Agron and Mark Salling’s voices were not the strongest of the groups, they can carry a tune, but they are not the voices that shine among the actors. So their version of one of my favorite songs, definitely put me into the group of people who are so over the hype of glee, and will not be getting back to better music.

This Past week, I had been listening to my Ipod like I quite often do, and Michael Buble’s version of To Love Somebody had come on. It dawned on me that there was something very familiar but different about the song, like I had heard it somewhere before but couldn’t place it right away. That was until I had realized that I recognized it as being a Bee Gee’s song. I like Michael’s Jazz spin on the song. It gives the song some soul, but keeps the whole original response to an  unrequited love.

This afternoon, I finally feel like I finally found some common ground with my mom. Some of my alternative foods that I have been eating due to having food intolerances and sensitivities, she has actually tried and come to like as much as I do. Even a year ago she was still hesitant about even trying my food. It was okay for me to eat it, but it had been too out there for her. While she probably won’t be going completely dairy free in the near future, or go gluten free for her own reasons period, we have come to a point, where she has realized that I am not crazy, and that the “alternative” food that I do eat is actually pretty good, mainly in part because I spent the first almost 24 years of my life eating normal mainstream food, that I still aim to eat food that tastes as close to what I had grown up with as I can. I talk about it more in depth here

I don’t know why, but for the last few days, I have felt like my life is going to be changing in a big way, and change for the better. I don’t know the who, where, what, why, how’s of it yet. All I know is that my intuition doesn’t lie, and has been dead on most of the time. All I know is that I believe that there is something big coming up for me. I thought the quote from the Hunger Games was fitting for what I am going through right now.

“Hope. It is the only thing stronger than fear” – The Hunger Games

I feel like I know where I belong, and where my home is, and that something will be working out, so that I can either move back or that it will be more of a part of my life again. I finally feel like I am starting to live again. I finally feel like I can breathe and be myself and have that go over well. Just because my current situation is not so great, doesn’t mean that it will always be this way, and there is something bigger and better out there for me to get up for in the morning. I just have to keep pressing toward the future.

