Learning to Stand on my Own Two Feet

Hey Everyone,

I don’t know if I have talked much about the impact of the trip to New York I had taken a fears ago has had on my life on this blog or not. I will take this opportunity to do so now.

It was the end of June and early part of July 2011 when I was out there. I had travelled out there on my own, to be a nanny for a family on Long Island. It was one of the first decisions I had made on my own, and had set my mind to it, and didn’t let anyone try to talk me out of it. Even if it was a mistake, it was mine to make and learn from. While I was only there a week before getting sent home for being too much of a goody goody, I am glad I went.

I learned a lot about self reliance, and that I can do anything I set my mind to, and do what I believe is right for me. I knew there would be resistance to my going from certain people in my life, but it was and is my life, and I refuse to let others make life changing decisions for me, and therefore live my life for me. I have always known that I was more independent and that I could move away and be ok on my own, even though it is always hard at first. Part of my choosing to go away like this was because I had to prove to myself that I could do it, and be able to stand on my own two feet, and not be tied to my parents approval my entire life.

To any young person out there, if you have the opportunity to go do something that isn’t completely stupid (like jumping off a cliff without a parachute), and deep down you believe that it is the right decision for you (granted you are at least 18) then go for it. If it doesn’t go according to plan or work out in the end (did I mention being sent home after a crazy week?) then it will be one of those stories you can tell later, about the experience you had, and having followed through on it.

About pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.
This entry was posted in Life lessons, My Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

