Hey Everyone!

It is the Saturday after Thanksgiving here in the U.S., and in recent years it has earned the label “Small Business Saturday”. That is one Christmas is Shopping, so go shop, days that I actually like. I don’t know how many areas it has caught on in, but I have heard the term thrown out there in the area where I am for the past couple years at least. I like it because it is encouraging people to shop locally owned mom and pop type stores, which is really good for the local economy. I personally love shopping locally when I can.

Yesterday was Black Friday which is a big shopping day here in the States. Many stores have special Black Friday sales. I have never been one to wait in line at a store in the middle of the night to get into a store for their Black Friday sales. I have been known to shop on Black Friday, but I wait until the afternoon or shop online. Such was the case last night, I saw that REI was having a sale, so I went and checked out what they had sales on. Turns out that one of the Backpacks (for traveling or hiking) was on sale, so I got it. I couldn’t pass up a normally $50 22L day pack for $29. I don’t do the whole going to the store early in the morning, when I am normally asleep. I don’t much care for crowds, especially when they could turn deadly at any given moment.

Today, I did some major shopping, and did spend some time and money in one of my favorite local businesses – Bob’s Red Mill. I was getting low the two flour mixes that I use in my Gluten Free/Dairy Free baking. They do have regular wheat flour, and items that do contain gluten and dairy, but they also have an amazingly large selection of gluten free flours, and other gluten free items, as well as baking and cooking aids. The company has been around for a while, but I had only found out about it within the last 5 or 6 years. I have been shopping there regularly since I went gluten free almost a year ago. I can tell you that I made out like a bandit. I got all the flours I needed to mix up more of the mixes that I use. I had also gotten more yeast for baking bread.

After having gone to Bob’s Red Mill, I went to the mall to go to the Body Shop and get more eye makeup remover, face cleansers, and a day time moisturizer. Going to the mall used to always be a fun, carefree experience. Now it is kind of hard, to not keep an open ear, and watch over your back kind of situation. It is nearing the two year mark that some punk showed up at the mall I frequent, and started shooting at random people in the food court area, killing two and critically injuring a third before taking his own life. It crosses my mind at least once each time I go to the mall, even though I try not to think about it. I want to say that I had been to the mall within the week, if not earlier in the day that the shooting happened.

I had also gone to Fred Meyer and did a lot of shopping there. There was quite a bit on my list as I just started a new job, and got my first paycheck. I had a list of necessities as well as a couple “wants” that I wanted to pickup. I have gone without a lot over the last few months, so it was nice to be able to just go shopping and pick up what I needed. I picked up a few things for work, like a PUR water pitcher, so that I can have filtered water my my desk, so I don’t have to get up every time I need to fill my water bottle. I had also picked up a box of band-aids, even though I won’t need them like I did while working at the studio. I stabbed my fingers so many times it got to the point where I just took band-aid’s with me, in my purse. I also picked up a travel mug, so I can take my tea with me in the mornings, as I don’t drink much of it, before I have to be heading out the door, and I don’t like wasting perfectly good tea.

I started my day of shopping about 11:00 or so this morning, and finished up by 4:30 this afternoon.

