Hey Everyone!

Tonight was awesome. I got together with a friend who I hadn’t seen since last summer, and hung out for a bit. I love friday nights like this, where I have plans with friends of my own. That is just one of the great things about being an adult, and working, is that I can go where I want, with who I want after work. When I was a kid, I really was not allowed to hang out with friends much outside of school and church, so the freedom to do so now as an adult is amazing.

I am also very excited for tomorrow. One of my friends and I are planning on going on hiking.

This past week, I was reminded of why I am doing what I am doing, in that I am working at a job that I can tolerate, but that is not a career for me. Like many other American’s, the Economy is still tough. I graduated from college at a tough economic time, so I am thankful to have a job, an one that I can afford to pay my college loans, put gas in my car, keep myself fed, and still have a bit to do my own thing with. I am thankful for that income, and the opportunity to work on building real world paid work experience. So I may not love my job, but I am grateful for it, and I do view it as a great opportunity. Having basic office experience in Data Entry, Data Verification, and organization is useful in any career field. Part of what I do is to look stuff up to make sure it is correct. What I am looking up and where I look it up is different from writing research papers like I did in college, but some of the same underlying factors are still at play.

With having a job, it does allow me to be able to go on adventures over the weekend. While I am still just getting started, and have not ventured very far afield yet, I am working on it. I am also hoping that through my adventures blog, and the “Adventure is My Middle Name” Facebook Page, that it may help me get to where I want to go career wise. The more I get to go see and do, the more I have to photograph and share, and the more I will hopefully get noticed.

For now, my weekends are where I am making what I want my life to become happen. Small steps, and Local Adventures, are steps in the right direction. Doing something, is much better than doing nothing. You are not going to make it happen by doing nothing. I am building on my adventures, I am doing more, seeing more, as well as thinking and dreaming bigger. I would love to see where my life takes me over the next five years, and I don’t want, and refuse to let fear of the unknown stand in my way. This is my life, and I am going to live it.

I know I have been loving the adventures and outings I have been on of late, and I look forward to the next adventure with an intensity that is only of knowing that going outside, seeing history, and being there is where my passion lies. After my adventure last Saturday, I felt like I was on top of the world, and in that adventure I loved my life, and I could not have imagined a better way to spend part of my Saturday. I wanted more, more days filled with seeing history for what it was, and stand where so many had stood, and remember the lives that had come before me, to get me here, in that moment.

Living is taking in each of these moments and storing them away. Building upon what you love, and what makes you happy. For me that is going outside, going hiking with my friends, being in the great outdoors. If it involves history it is that much better.

