Hey Everyone!

Sadly, I am not the one who actually moved today. I spent a few hours helping one of my Coworkers from the Studio I had worked at a year ago, and her husband move out of their apartment, into a cute little one bed one bath house in North Portland. Their house has a front yard and a backyard, which is perfect for their two dogs, and being able to enjoy being outside on summer evenings and such. After we had emptied their moving truck at their new house, they took those of us who helped out for food.

After I got back to the house, I began dealing with placing a claim on a lost package in the UPS system. I had ordered some stuff, which shipped Friday, March 6th. I had used express 1 – 3 day shipping, and as of Tuesday, March 10th, it got stuck in Oakland, CA, and has been there since. So that has been interesting. I also did a load of laundry, while working on the claim. I would have liked to have watched Brave and Maleficent tonight, and had been looking forward to it since the Friday my package shipped, but sadly I am having to postpone that, as my package isn’t here.

Today, I ordered PiYo, which is a Pilates/Yoga workout, as I am wanting to get in shape, as there are so many adventures I want to go on, but I am so out of shape, it isn’t funny. I want to take on many more hikes, and adventures than I could have dreamed of. I also want to give Bouldering and Rock Climbing another effort, and be in better shape, and more toned, so that I have less of me to try to maneuver, and more muscle tone to maneuver the smaller me. I am doing this for myself. It has nothing to do with the societal pressures to conform. It has everything to do with me, and what I want to do with my life, on a whole, and as a career. I don’t like being stuck inside, when I could be outside exploring, learning, teaching, sharing experience, and being example that while traditions help build a firm foundation of who we are, the old ways are not the only ways. As a young woman in my late 20’s, I am at an amazing age where I am still learning a lot from my elders, yet I am an example and teacher to my peers and those younger than myself. Girls are not just weaklings, who stay inside all day and have no thoughts, feelings, dreams, goals, and aspirations of their own. They have all of that and so much more.

Even with getting soaking wet, with helping my friend move, I prefer to be soaking wet for that time to being too hot for any length of time. It was a perfect early spring day here in Oregon.

Over the past month, I have been challenging myself a bit, to get out, and work on getting used to driving different places, and using different freeways and such that I am not as used to or comfortable with. As much as I don’t like living in the big city, I still am living here for the time being. I figure the more I get used to going different places, and getting out of my comfort zone and rabbit trails, it will help me out when I have the opportunity to move somewhere new. I know when I had moved off to college, figuring out where things were, and how to get from point a to point b was rather overwhelming. This challenge had actually kind of started in college, and just continued to take off after that. In the last couple of months, having the Google Maps app on my iPhone has really helped with that confidence to figure out where I am going when I am going into unfamiliar territory.

