Being “Auntie” is Awesome!

Hey Everyone!

I have had a very busy and productive Monday. I switched my weekday off so I could watch two of my friend’s kids for a couple hours while she was getting stuff done here in town. Prior to watching the kids I had gone to the post office and ran up to NE Portland to my favorite bakery to get a treat.

My friend had asked me this past Friday, if I could and would switch my week day off to watch her 6 and 2 year olds while she got things for her family organized for a church convention that is coming up, here in the city I live in. I told her I would gladly do it. Beings that she trusts me, and it is easier to get something done when you don’t have two little’s under foot, and they would have more fun getting to play and go on an “adventure”.  I had also gotten my little 2 year old “Niece” (my friends little girl) to say my full first name, as for the past few months she could only get “Ecky” of it, and while I still am called “Ecky” by her, she is able to say “Erica”. I had grown up around this particular location so I knew it like the back of my hand. It has changed a fair amount since I was 2 & 6, but it still holds so many childhood memories for me, many are bittersweet as they included my dad’s mom who passed away when I was 13.

Today, I really got thinking about how much my life has changed in the past 14 years, and how the good and bad have shaped the person I am today, and have shaped the person I want to be in the future.

I had also gone to lunch with my friend, her mom, and her kids, and had a great time. Afterward I had gone by the Oregon Rail Heritage Center, but sadly it was closed (I had forgotten that is not open Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday), so I came back to the house, and eventually went for a 2.5 mile walk (after getting in 2.3 miles in the course of errands and watching kids).

I get to end the evening getting more food, and getting ready for work tomorrow.

About pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.
This entry was posted in Adult Life, Adulthood, Family, Friends and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

