Trains and automobiles 

Hey Everyone!

Today was pretty epic. I slept in a little bit and got up around 7:30 this morning. I got up and got ready for the day. I had to make a stop at the bank, the store and the gas station before skipping town for the day. 

I headed west, which pretty much only means one thing around here – BEACH DAY!!!!!!!!! I spent the past three weeks in the city and half of that time I spent getting over a cold. 

I had the worst case of cabin fever I have had for a long time. I just needed to go, drive and be away from the city. 

I drove out to Rockaway Beach, and went for a ride on the Oregon Coast Scenic Railroad. During the summer the train that is pulled by a steam engine between Garibaldi and Rockaway Beach runs several times a day. I went once about a year ago, and really wanted to go again. About a month and a half ago I had the opportunity to go on the Salmonberry excursion, which used one of the Diesel engines (the 101, which has a cow print painted on it). It was amazing as well. 

My maternal grandmother passed on a few of the things she enjoyed to me, Knitting, cooking, the beach and Trains. I couldn’t help but think about her and miss her today and how much she would have loved having gone with me on today’s adventure where I combined two of her’s and my favorite things, the beach and trains. Having these common interests, while they remind me of her, and make me sad sometimes; they also make me happy. It is the little things that remind me that she’s have enjoyed them and have been proud of me make me happy and help me to not forget about her. 

On my way back inland I stopped and saw my sister for a bit and saw the kids. It was a long day and a lot of driving (pushing 300 miles today), but it was so worth it. 

   
 

About pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.
This entry was posted in Adult Life, Adventures, Family, History, Knitting, Life lessons, My Journey, outdoors, Places I Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

