Ready for change

Hey Everyone!

Over the past 9 years Portland has really become the Bain of my existence. I had to move back after college because the job opportunities are greater here, even with that unless you are an engineer of some sort or in the health care fields, you can’t find a decent job here with a bachelors degree. I am working at the best job I have had since I graduated from college and yet I am still unable to support myself and make loan payments each month. Until I started my current job I worked odd jobs here and there which never lasted. 

Real estate prices and property taxes are climbing steadily each year, which prices normal people like myself out of the housing market. 

If it weren’t for the fact that I was forced to move back to my parents house after college, I could not afford to live in the Portland Metro Area. Between not being able to find a job that pays decently with my education and skill set and the ever increasing housing prices, I am looking to find a job and move elsewhere.

I don’t know where I am going to end up but I am willing to move where I can find a job I can support myself on, even if it is someplace I would not have thought of or wanted to move in the first place. I have seen was not being flexible is like in that regards and I don’t want to end up like that. I have learned that being flexible and giving a place a fair shot (2 years at least and when possible) is good. The first year is the hardest, the second year is the getting settled and comfortable year, 3+ years, even if it isn’t your favorite place you have enough invested there that you can see it through or make a change. That second year is really the proving year, you made it through the first rough year and you are in a better place to really feel the waters and see if it is where you want to stay. Granted I am talking about the civilian world where one has a choice in the matter, unlike the military, some missions fields or non profit relief positions where you are send where the man sends you. 

Like I have mentioned I don’t know for sure where I will end up but my gut is telling me that it will be some place between the Rocky Mountains and the Mississippi River. Where I should be looking for jobs and housing and such has been something I have been praying about for a while and seeking guidance from God on, while I do my part and look for and apply for jobs. 

I know I have been all over the place on where I want to live. In an ideal to me situation I could find a job I could support myself on in the mid willamette valley. Realistically I don’t see that happening in the near future. It could happen, but realistically I don’t see it happening. 

About pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.
This entry was posted in Adult Life, Adulthood, City Life, goals, Inspiration, Life, Life lessons, My Journey, Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

