Hey Everyone!

The past few weeks have been exhausting, physically, mentally and emotionally. I have had a lot going on, and I didn’t really have the chance to get out and recharge by doing something I love doing, going on adventures. 

While I was out today, I realized that my adventures are part of who I am, and if I ever get married, then I had better make sure whoever I marry is on the same level in regards to adventures, and won’t try to stop me, and better yet would want to go along and suggest them, because they enjoy them as much as  I do. 

This morning I decided to go up to the Johnston Ridge Observatory on Mt Saint Helens (the one that erupted May 18th, 1980). I had been up there a few times over the years. The first time I was about 8 to 10 (so about 15 – 17 years after it had erupted), so I have been able to see how the mountain side has transformed over the years. The first couple of times, as you got closer to the top it was still extremely desolate, bare, and covered with damaged trees. The past couple of times (last summer and today), the mountainside below the timberline, is recovering pretty well. It has taken three and a half decades, a lot of replanting, probably some species reintroduction, and other species returning on their own but the mountain is healing what it can. It will always be topless and have it’s one side blown out, but the ecosystem that was lost is recovering. A lot of the replanted trees are still pretty spindley and need to fill out more, but it reminded me a lot of being in Canada and going up to my aunt and uncles house. 

I have loved being outside since I was little. So it is no surprise that being outdoors in the middle of nowhere is something that is completely in my element. I am sensible about when I go and when, for obvious safety reasons, but I also don’t let fear stop me from living my life and doing what I enjoy. 

Having grown up with seeing the mountains on a regular basis (you can see them from the freeway when they aren’t being hidden by clouds), I should be used to them, but I still can’t get used to how beautiful they are, and how fortunate I have been, to have been raised in this part of the country. I have been other places, but this area will always have a piece of my heart. 

As I am writing this I am exhausted, not because work was crazy, or because I am working for a paycheck while I squeeze in what I am passionate  about in what little free time I have, I would love more adventures and more time spent discovering new places (and learn their history) and revisiting places I had visited when I was young but didn’t appreciate then, that I would appreciate now. I also love writing about it. 

Something about being outside brings a part of me to life that gets shut away when I spend a lot of inside, not doing anything related to History, knitting, or planning adventures. I am an outdoorsy kind of girl. That is just how I am, I thrive on fresh air. 

  
 

