Hi Everyone!

Lately (more like a few years now), I have been wanting to be more self sufficient, and living more sustainably and naturally. Though, I would still be purchasing the almond coconut milk I like and Bob’s Red Mill flours I use. 

I would love to have a deep freeze full of freezer jam, wild caught fish, moose, elk and venison. I would also love to have a garden, and a couple of greenhouses. I would love to raise chickens (for eggs and meat) as well as pigs (for meat). 

I want to do a lot of canning and preserving and living a bit more like they did in the olden days, while making use of the modern conveniences like an electric or natural gas range, a deep freeze, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, a washer and dryer and indoor plumbing. 

I have mentioned in other blog posts that I like working with my hands and knowing where my food comes from. I also like the idea of whatever excess I get from the garden that I cannot use myself, of giving it to neighbors and food banks for those in need. 

I really don’t consider myself to be a hippie or a hipster who only shops at Whole Foods or New Seasons. If you were to see me out and about I would look like your average late 20’s young woman. There is definitely something to be sad for te First Nations ideology that the plants and animals are there to feed us (the whole we are the too predators thing), but with that need need to only take what we can use, and be mindful not to leave young without their mother. 

Really all this does come back to my love of history, it’s  preservation and the great outdoors. I love working hard and burning calories while I work at doing something I love. I still don’t know how I am going to make it happen but I know there is a way.

 These past few months I have been full on city girl and it has taken so much out of me that I am so done and over it. I am missing living in a small town in the middle of nowhere. 

I had gone for a hike with one of my friends yesterday, we had gone to one of our favorite hiking spots. We had come to the clearing in the woods, found a tree stump, sat down on it and just enjoyed how peaceful it was out there. 

About pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.
This entry was posted in Adult Life, Adulthood, Baking, Cooking, Crafts, Culture, Decorating, Groceries, History, Homemaking, Inspiration, Knitting, Life, Life lessons, My Journey, outdoors, Places I Love, Style, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

