When all I dream about is Alaska

Hey Everyone!

As some of you know, if you have been following my blog for any amount of time, I am a huge fan of fall and winter because the temperature drops, it becomes cold and I am happy. 

For many years SE Alaska has definitely been on my radar of places I would like to live. While I haven’t completely ruled out Maine, Vermont and New Hampshire as potential possibilities, Alaska still has those three states beat out 10 to 1 (and that is combined). 

I am definitely partial to the west coast of the US, I also love the weather, wildlife, hunting, fishing and scenery of Northern British Columbia, so SE Alaska would be totally fitting for me. It would also allow me to get more use out of my hand knit winter wear. 

If any of you also follow my Adventurs blog (titled: Adventure is my Middle Name) you will know that I love being outdoors, rustic cabins, the coast and everything like that. 

I am so ready for a change, this city girl is tired of the big city and the big city life. I am trying to figure out how to make finding a job I can support myself on, that I enjoy I. Alaska happen. Yes I have been praying about it. 

This is how obsessed I am with the colder northern climates:     

Yeah, I want to partially decorate where ever I move with northern animal themes. I am still looking for a quilt similar to this:

  
The idea of having meat in the freezer that was caught or hunted and frozen or smoked fresh, as well as a green house and garden that are somehow made bear, moose or other animal resistant is my kind of life. Though I still would like a “normal” house with indoor plumbing, electricity and Internet. 

That is my dream that I am working toward and am working to make it happen in the next five years (though if I could make it happen before I turn 30, I would be ecstatic). 

 Jared Mecham (from Ellie and Jared on YouTube) has asked the question “what would you do if you weren’t afraid”. For me it is believing in myself and my dreams enough to see them happen. Part of that is also talking about it in the process of working toward that dream, because of the whole “what if I fail?” Or “what if it changes?”. I know there are those of you out there who understand and are supportive. In the past year I have really found my safety net and support network who love me and support me even when they completely disagree with me. That has been a huge boost for me. 

Blogging, knitting, History, Adventures are at the top of my list of what I am most passionate about besides God. I want to be able to grow and expand on what I have already been doing. Right now I feel stuck and I feel like my posts are stagnant and am looking for a career that would allow me to do what I love and blog about it, even on the side. The kind of career that I am not so exhausted at the end of the day and at the end of the week that I don’t have the energy to do what I love. I want to do more than just exist, I want to live life to the fullest. 

About pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.
This entry was posted in Adult Life, Adulthood, Adventures, City Life, Crafts, Fall, goals, Knitting, Life, Life lessons, My Journey, outdoors, Travel, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

