Hey Everyone!

It has been a busy weekend. Friday I ran some errands and then headed out of town. I stopped in Salem for food, before going the rest of the way out to Polk County for the tree lighting where I went to College. 

This is the first tree lighting I have made it to since 2007, 8 years is a long time. I went freshman and sophomore years, I don’t remember why I didn’t go junior year, Senior year I was in doing my final presentation for my history of the Early American West class, so I couldn’t go. Beings that they moved it from Wednesday to Friday night, made it possible to go this year, since I have Friday’s off. 

 The tree that is lit up is now 128 years old (it was planted in 1887), and it is a giant sequoia. From the right spots you can see it from miles away. 

Yesterday I had attended a wedding at church. I knew both the bride and groom. The groom is the younger brother of a friend of mine, and the bride had been my helper a couple years when I had been a group leader at doing Vacation Bible School. She was best helper anyone could ask for. With her I didn’t have to worry about any of the kids getting separated from the group, and if she said we had everyone, we had everyone. 

They had a really nice, simple, Christmasy wedding. Beings that the church was already being decorated for Christmas, it fit in perfectly. 

You can see some of the decorations below. 

 

My brother had come by before the wedding, so he took me with him over to the church for the wedding. Beings that he helped get the sanctuary ready for church today, which gave me time to get the pictures. 

