When my Mom was asking me what I wanted for my Birthday my mind went blank. Of course there are things I would like, but few that I would actually ask for. 

As I was thinking about what to “ask for” for my birthday I was taken back to my childhood, to when I had a list 3/4 of a page long. 

Now that I am older my wants are more expensive and things I expect to purchase for myself when I can afford them. 

It has been interesting to look back over this past year and see how things have changed. I have been holding down a full time job, paying bills. Things I am passionate about, like reading books and knitting have taken a back seat to life. This year I have fit in more adventures in what little free time I have had. This next year I want to balance the free time I have to spend more time knitting and reading books. 

The past couple of months I have really been considering my purpose, my mission and my call in life. While it has changed a bit from what it was five and a half years ago, in many ways it hasn’t. If the direction I am seeing right now, continues and is the Lord’s will for my life, the past decade has not been a waste at all, but rather an eye opener to needs and preparation for serving the call and the need. 

Had my life gone according to my plan for my life when I was 16, I would gotten married at 22 or 23 after I graduated from college and had become a teacher and would likely have had a couple kids of my own by now. I wouldn’t have gone to New York on my own when I was 23. I likely would be passionate about the things I am passionate about. 

