Small Towns are where I am meant to Be

Hey Everyone! 

I know it’s been a while since my last post. Between being busy and sick, time just got away from me. 

I haven’t been to the beach since my last post, which is weird for me during the summer. The beach is seriously more my home than the city. Small coastal towns have their share of problems but I have never felt unsafe there or that it is worse than the city. 

I was out the other day and spent most of my time sitting in traffic, and was reminded of why, even though I was raised in the city, that I am not a city girl. It took me about as long to get to the bank (three miles away) as it does to go from Tillamook to Garibaldi (10 miles) or Rockaway Beach (15 miles). 

So that is what I have been up to lately; working, being sick, missing the beach, wanting a home of my own, and comtemplating my future. There is a huge part of me that misses small town life. I don’t need a Costco located 15 minutes from where I live, or a mall. I would be fine with a Safeway 10 – 15 miles away and making trips to the city for all the other stuff and see my friends here while I am at it. I totally thrived while I was in College, and the closest Fred Meyer was in a different county, and driving 20 minutes to the chain grocery store on occasion for a larger variety, and stock up. In between stock up trips filling in with the little local grocery store. 

About pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.
This entry was posted in Adult Life, Adulthood, City Life, Groceries, Life, My Journey and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

