Hey Everyone!

We have had snow on the ground for 7 days straight. Here in this part of the country means the roads are an ice skating rink until it melts off, so the city & schools has been shut down for the entire time, on top of other ice storms this winter. So I have only left the house once, long enough to go to the grocery store in the past week and a half. 

I am ready for the snow and ice to be gone, and it should be gone soon. I can handle rain, that is no issue for me. I am excited to finally be able to go out and about on my own again, as I am tired of being stuck inside. 

During this once every few years snow event, I have been spending my free time after work, I have been working on my knitting projects, including socks, as well as reading a book. 

This past week, I finished the first sock in a pair I am working on knitting up. I have tried knitting socks in the past, but they were more for practice. I finally found a process that works for me, and I am getting the hang of knitting socks, as well as having gauge tested the yarn to figure out which size of needles would be the best for the project, which I did figure out. Fortunately the same size needles will work for all the sock yarn I have, which will make things a lot easier. 

I love being able to make things for myself and preserving a traditional way of doing things so the art is not lost or forgotten about. There is something about working hard and actually seeing the fruits of my labor when I get the project done. If it doesn’t work out then I try it again a bit differently. 

I am wanting to make several times airs of socks, and use them primarily as boot socks, beings that I love boots and have a hard time finding boot socks that I love, especially for the colder months. I also want to have plenty so I won’t have to hand wash socks as often, beings that hand washing socks and then laying them flat to dry takes longer but is better for the socks.

I definitely am preparing my hand knit stash to be able to enjoy more outdoor adventures in the cooler months, and be able to stay as warm as possible. 

Two of my goals are to do more hiking and camping, especially during the cooler months. I have found that with my current socks, my feet are almost always freezing by the end, and that is part of my mission to make my own warmer socks. I am only knitting simple, plain socks, because my goal is warmeth over fashion. 

I have found that KnitPicks Palette Yarn is amazing Yarn that I want to try for socks and see how well it works. 

