Hey Everyone!

Today’s excitement was having the power company come out, and replace the transformer on the utility pole outside of the house. The power company had gone around and left paper notices on the doors of houses over the weekend, letting the residents know they would be doing this work. I wasn’t surprised that they were going to be replacing the transformer on the pole outside the house, since there was a posting on the pole for a while about possible back feed.

Today I have also been working on knitting up socks today. I started this pair over the weekend, and I am still working on the first one. I am hoping to get it done either today or tomorrow, and get the second one knit up quicker than the first one. The yarn I am using has been interesting to work with in terms of socks. I had used up most of the 1,500 yards of the wool on a shawl, and i am just using what is left over to knit up socks since I have enough. After I get this pair done I still have a couple more pairs of socks to knit up out of other sock yarn that I have before I dive back into to knitting socks up out of the KnitPicks Palette yarn I have. I have enough Palette yarn to make up several dozen pairs of socks. I realize that I am going sock crazy at the moment. I am working on so many pairs of socks, because I want many pairs of socks for Hiking, and traveling, so I can go on adventures and have enough clean hand knit socks to have at least one clean pair for every day I am away.

I started watching the show Indian Summers yesterday. It is a British show, done on Channel 4 in the UK, and PBS here in the States. It is set in 1932 in India. It depicts the social politics relating to the decline of the British empire and British hold on India. It also takes a look at the social class system of India at the time, From the White, English, Aristocracy, to how the native Indians are treated by the white aristocracy, even if said Indians are land owners and business owners, all the way down to the mixed race (white/native Indian) children who are shunned by society, and appear to the be lowest of the low class wise since they are fully Indian, but they are not white either, they are “half cast”. That seems to be the case every where you look in History. The mixed race – half white have native children are the worst of, and are worse off than the natives who are treated like savages and less than human as it is. It is the way it is, but it is sad.

“Just because it is, doesn’t mean it should be” – Hugh Jackman as the Drover in Australia.

I have only watched the first three episodes so far and I am wanting to watch the rest of the first and second seasons.

The first season begins in 1932, which is a few years after when the ending of Downton  Abbey is set to have taken place (1926). The second season is set in 1935, which is 9 years after the last episode of Downton Abbey is set. According to what information I have gathered, at some point in one of the seasons of Indian Summers, Ralph Whelan is 33. IDK yet if he is supposed to be 33 in the beginning of Season 1 or at the end of Season 2. If he is 33 at the beginning of the show, that would mean he was born in 1899, if he is 33 at the end of season 2, he would have been born in 1902, meaning Alice would have been born in 1904 or 1907, as it has been established that she went back to England when she was 8, and Ralph was 13 at the time.

While I know that Indian Summers and Downton Abbey are in no way actually connected or that they tie into each other. I just got curious about what the age differences would have been between the characters of Ralph & Alice as well as the 3 Crawley Sisters would have been beings that these two shows are period dramas, involving the British aristocracy and upper class, and one show is set only 6 years after the other one’s ending set date. Ralph would have been a few years younger than Lady Sybil. Though Alice, age wise would have been somewhere between the elder two Crawley Sisters and Sybbie – Sybil’s daughter. Lady Mary and Henry Talbot’s child would have been born in 1927, making that child about 4 – 4.5 years older than Alice’s son, Percy, If Lady Edith and Bertie Pelham had any kids of their own, they would be close in age to Percy. While there is a larger age difference between the Crawley Sisters and Ralph and Alice, Matthew Raworth – the missionary couple’s son would have been the same age as Master George, also making him about about a year younger than Miss Sybbie and about a year to a year and a half older than Miss Marigold.

While I know that these shows are fiction and unrelated, I find it interesting to see which of the characters would have been about the same age, and under other circumstances could have moved in the same social circles.

