Hey Everyone!

This week I have spent some time cooking and baking, and a lot of time knitting. 

I finally got the pie of socks I was working on done. I had used 100% Merino Wool that was two strands. Man, I am glad to be done with that yarn. It was a royal pain in the rear to work with. 

I have since started another pair of socks with my favorite brand of sock yarn, and it is definitely knitting up a lot easier. 

While Portland has its chain coffee shops like Starbucks, Dutch Bros, Black Rock Coffee (which I haven’t tried yet), and the human bean, it also has its own small locally owned neighborhood coffee and tea shops that have a character all their own. I prefer these coffee and tea shops to chains like Starbucks.

I am all about buying local. While I am still not a total fan of living in Portland, I have been coming around to it more and more. As I have been exploring and spending time in the smaller neighborhoods, especially those that have a shopping district that makes it have a community and/or small town feeling to the area, are my favorites, and make living in the city more tolerable.  Not to mention that most of the city can get good internet speeds, as I would like to be making more YouTube videos once I get a new job and place of my own. 

While I am not a fan of how hot it can get in the summer, I do love the wet, mild, generally not snowy winters, as well as how well produce grows here. I should also mention that urban homesteading is big here, which I am totally on board with. It would be nice to have a garden and some chickens in the backyard. 

