Portlandia Lifestyle

Hey Everyone!

A little background on me: I was raised very mainstream conservative, where at the age of 10 I started shaving and has a certain standard of personal grooming drummed in my head growing up, and that has lasted into early adulthood.

After college, I moved back to Portland, where for a while I still held to the whole standard of appearance, shopping at the local supermarket, eating highly processed, chemical filled products, and not questioning anything, because I wasn’t supposed to be one of those alternative – think for your self, care about what your actually eating types. Then I got really sick, and that messed up my digestive system. This was after having a horrible yeast infection under my arms for a few years.

Once my digestive system had gone haywire, leaving me so I couldn’t ingest any dairy, including trace amounts, or eat much gluten, or eggs or coffee, my views of food, what I was putting in my body, as well as personal hygiene items began to change.

I will also mention that when I had the yeast infection under my arms, I had stopped shaving my arm pits because that made the irritation worse. I guess you could call it laziness, because I have never liked shaving my legs, and most of the time I can’t be bothered. As I got older, and began living a more natural lifestyle, shaving became more than just something I didn’t do, not just out of laziness, but as a general rule. Even for women, growing hair on our legs and armpits and other places, is a natural process once we hit puberty. It is natural for adults to have hair on their bodies. As I have gotten older, I have also not really liked the feeling of having hairless legs. You can call me a hippie, earth muffin, flower child or whatever, but for me, it’s more about what works for me, and is best for my body.

At this point in time, I don’t see myself going completely alternative, especially when it comes to clothes.

I do definitely prefer grocery shopping at New Seasons, Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods. If I could afford to do all my grocery shopping at those three stores and Bob’s Red Mill, I wouldn’t miss Safeway or Fred Meyer any.

Even though I am definitely living more natural, I still shower daily, and believe in good personal hygiene. I use Native Deodorant, it is the best brand of deodorant I have found yet. I also don’t use make up, and I also use Perfectly Posh, which uses way more natural ingredients in their products. I also haven’t dyed my hair in about a year and a half, and I am trying to let it grow out a bit more.

Living in Portland, Oregon has definitely helped shape my thinking, and who I am. Out here is very much a diy, self sufficiency, get back to nature, getting back to our roots, natural living, urban homesteading, homesteading, counter culture way of life.

I didn’t choose to have to go dairy free, gluten free, egg free, or have to use natural deodorant. All of those changes came out of necessity of life events. I did consciously go coffee free, and I consciously choose what products I use now to avoid all the synthetic chemicals that so many mainstream products and foods contain because of the rise diseases such as cancer, diabetes, and so many more that have been exponentially rising as main stream America uses an ever increasing amount of synthetic chemicals.

About pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.
This entry was posted in Culture, Life, Natural Living, Portland, Urban Homesteading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

