Hey Everyone!

If you are not from the PNW, you probably weren’t aware of the 206 day stretch of below 70 we had had, that ended on Tuesday. We had not hit 70 since like October 7th or 8th, and then it went from upper 50’s to 84 degrees yesterday. We are on track to hit that or higher today, since it was already 79 with 47% humidity at 11:00 am. It had hit 88 degrees around 2 pm.

I am one of those people who is complaining that it is too hot when it is 70 degrees. I prefer the cold wet weather, and prefer winter over summer. Though Autumn / Fall is my favorite season, especially from mid October (when the days are still around 65 – 70, and before it really starts to have measurable rain most days) through about the first week of November.

So  typical me – as soon as we get our first 70 + degree day (Yesterday), I start wanting it to be fall. Last night, and most of today, I have had everything pumpkin, pumpkin scented, autumn colors and autumn decorating on the brain.

Summer is a necessary evil so to speak, but I do love summer evenings, when it is light well into the evening, still warm enough to be outside, yet cooling off from the heat of the say since the  sun is going down. Having a backyard and back patio (with string lights up) to grill up hotdogs, brauts, or burgers for dinner, and being able to eat dinner outside. All the fresh, local fruit, that is in season, as well as being able to have it available to can and make jams & Jellies out of. Pretty much, as long as I can have air conditioning, I manage to survive summer, and it does have a few things going for it.

Now that I  am working on living a simpler, more purposeful, and purposefully driven live, as well as wanting to get more into homesteading or even Urban Homesteading;  growing as much of my own food as possible, summer is necessary in order to achieve the goals I have set for myself.

