You can put the Country Girl in the City, but……

Hey Everyone!

Anyone else feel like they are living in the wrong era?

Yeah, I definitely feel like I was born about 60 years too late. 

The past few years I have definitely not been thrilled to be living in the city again. I miss the slower pace of small town life, where I didn’t have cable tv, Hulu Plus or Netflix, and had slower internet, that was fast enough to occasionally watch some YouTube and keep up with the basics like email, Facebook, and studying. I love having some tv shows on DVD, to watch in the morning while I eat breakfast or in the evening while I ate dinner. I also miss being busy enough that I didn’t get bored easily. Between having a good book to read or some knitting to work on, and some music to listen to, life was good. 

Playing board games with my friends, or while at the beach, watching the sunset over the ocean, then sitting around a campfire, with a nice cup of tea, making S’mores, and having a good conversation, was the best. 

Living in the city, I have felt that in order to have fun, you have to spend money. Spending money on going out to eat, then to go to a movie or going shopping. Living in a small town, it isn’t that expensive to pay for gas to get from where you live to Main Street (as it is usually 5 – 10 minutes away, and the bigger town in the county was only 9 miles away). It wasn’t hard to run from the town I lived in, to the county seat – 9 miles away to meet up with friends for coffee, or to go to the larger grocery store.

Here in the city, one of my former work locations is about 7.5 miles from where I live, on a good day with light traffic and the lights in my favor take about 30 minutes (on a bad commute day would take a good 45 minutes to an hour). Where I lived in college, to get from where I lived junior and senior year, to the Safeway store that was roughly 10 miles away, took between 15 & 20 minutes depending on the lights in town. Driving 2 lane country roads with a speed limit of 55 outside of city limits was great.

Living in a small town, I spent more time reading books, meeting up with friends for coffee, or having friends over for a movie night, or going on adventures. I did watch some TV on DVD, primarily during meals, but I spent more time doing other things to keep busy, that weren’t just vegging out in front of a screen. Most of my screen time was in the form of sitting on the computer doing homework, or writing papers. 

Granted, now, living on my own, and working, I would still be doing a lot more reading, as well as canning, baking and cooking, and doing some entertaining. I would rather grill up some meat for dinner and have friends over, and in the summer, enjoy a summer evening outside and maybe have a fire in the fire pit, and enjoy having conversations. 

Living a more frugal and purpose driven life is definitely something I am working on. These days, even if you go for dinner and a movie, or even on the frugal end, a matinee movie and a meal, if you include tip and cost of gas or fare for public transit, that is a good $30 blown per person on the cheap end. Where as, even staying in to have a movie night or grilling out, is definitely more frugal. 

It has honestly been about 2 years since the last time I saw a film in the theaters. The last film I saw was Tomorrowland. I had gone up to Seattle for a weekend, and one of my friends and I went out for dinner and then went to the cheap theater and saw tomorrowland. Besides the cost, the reason I prefer not seeing films in the theater, really has been the fact that I would just as soon watch a movie at home, on my comfy couch, in my comfy clothes, without being surrounded by other people. Especially with ITunes rentals, it is reasonable to rent a movie, and watch it on my computer.

To me anyway, there is more to life than wasting money on something that really isn’t meaningful, and only occupies your time for a few short hours and then you are left with really nothing to show for it, and no real lasting memories of it. Time spent with friends, or reading a book are more enjoyable to me. 

About pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.
This entry was posted in Adult Life, Adulthood, Baking, City Life, Cooking, goals, History, Homemaking, Homesteading, Life lessons, Natural Living, outdoors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You can put the Country Girl in the City, but……

  1. I think it’s so often a “grass is greener” thing…my husband and I contemplate leaving the city for the country and our pros and cons are split 50/50….the quiet, the space, etc. is so great out there but at the same time, while I technically can live anywhere, I need good internet to run my business and my husband would have to find work somewhere, so it limits the dream of finding or building on some land unless we find a rich benefactor 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • pacificnorthwestblogger says:

      I totally agree with that, while I would love to live on a farm, I loved living in a small town that was kind of in the middle of nowhere, yet is only about 20 minutes from Salem, and about an hour and a half from Portland. Something like that (a small town that is commutable to the city) is a good compromise.

      Like

      • Ah yes I know what you mean…we’ve been looking at land all the way down in Bandon and more local in Yamhill County, but it’s hard to think of the latter as we don’t want to move somewhere that driving becomes a way of life just to get to the store…my husband didn’t get his driver’s license til age 46 and I was car-free for 8 years…the eco-benefit of city living even when we need somewhere to stretch (and not hear sirens!). With the 4th of July coming we could use some quiet as we have no idea how our ducks are going to react to the noise!

        Liked by 1 person

      • pacificnorthwestblogger says:

        Yeah, I personally love Polk County, it wasn’t until I lived there while in College that I fell in love with it. It is pretty much I the middle of nowhere, the small towns are quiet (especially in the summer), and yet still close enough to Portland to come see family and do city stuff

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

