I am my Grandmother’s Granddaughter 

Hey Everyone!

Somethings are genetic, others are factors that come into play from how we were raised and what we were exposed to from a young age. 

As I am getting older, I have been realizing how much I am like my maternal grandmother. Granted she was the grandparent I spent the most time with. She lived in the same city as I did growing up, so she helped raise my brother and I. She was also the grandparent I had in my life the longest (she passed away when I was 22). So it’s only natural that some things were passed on to me, from her, by having been able to spend so much time with her. 

Other things, like the fact that my body doesn’t handle heat all that well can’t be learned. At least I know where I get it from. Not that I mind. I am definitely more of a fall and winter person anyway. 

Things I learned from my grandmother: That the beach is amazing, and that it never gets old, no matter how often I get to go to the beach. She also taught me how to knit. 

She also happened to be my birthday celebration buddy. Our birthdays were only 2 days apart, so we often celebrated together. I was born 2 days before her 69th birthday. 

I am glad that I was blessed to have her as my grandmother. She was always there for me. Even though I tend to be miserable in the summer from the heat, It reminds me of her. Air Conditioning and the fact that I know Autumn is coming are the the two things that get me through summer. 

About pacificnorthwestblogger

I have been knitting since I was 10. I love to read, write, knit, listen to music, Travel, and learn about history, especially when it comes to how women got things done around the home up to the mid-1960's.
This entry was posted in Adult Life, Adulthood, Fall, Family, Knitting, Life, Winter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

